Bambi

I arrived at the apiary at noon in a solid drizzle, but the sun broke out as soon as I suited up. As I entered the bee yard, I was startled by two mule deer, a female and a juvenile, emerging from the woods. We stared at each other from about 20 feet away, and then I went to work checking out the insect girls. Meanwhile, the ungulate girls calmly observed me and browsed for about 15 min before ambling off.

Oh, the bees: low activity that increased as the sun lingered, lots of drinking going on in an upturned jar lid. Far less pollen coming than last week, but we hope this will change as the weather improves in the coming days.

This entry was posted in Bee yard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

